State Senate Veterans Affairs Committee to Vote on Bill to Establish State Veterans Cemetery

Dear Great Park (ARDA site) Veterans Cemetery supporter:

We urgently need you to send an email—this weekend—to bring us one important step closer to making the Veterans Cemetery on the original Great Park ARDA site a reality.

With your help, the State Senate Veterans Affairs Committee at their Tuesday, June 25th hearing, will be voting to pass Assemblywoman Sharon Quirk-Silva’s bill, AB 368 (Quirk-Silva/Umberg/Daly) without any amendments.  AB 368, once passed, will again establish the original Great Park’s ARDA site for the Southern California Veterans Cemetery.

A few weeks ago, AB 368 was unanimously passed by the State Assembly with $20 million in first-year Veterans Cemetery construction funds approved in the State budget.  However, now that AB 368 is in the State Senate, developer FivePoint and Irvine Mayor Christina Shea are working furiously to derail the bill at the Tuesday afternoon hearing.

Mayor Shea and FivePoint are trying to defeat AB 368 by advocating yet another alternative Veterans Cemetery site—their so-called “Golf Course” site.  This is just their latest tactic to delay and derail the construction of the Veterans Cemetery, which developer FivePoint and Shea have been working to do for the past five years.

Thus, it is imperative that you send an email right away to the chair of the Veterans Affairs Committee, Senator Bob Archuleta, and copy all of the Committee’s members and main staffers, and forward this email to your friends.  This is arguably the most important land-use issue Irvine has faced in 15 years.

Your email—just a few sentences in your own words to Chairman Archuleta—urging passage of AB 368 without any amendments WILL help make the difference!  Include your name and address. (You can also phone Senator Archuleta’s office this weekend and on Monday or Tuesday morning: (916) 651-4032.)

Your email should be addressed as follows:

To:  senator.archuleta@senate.ca.gov

Cc: Senator.grove@senate.ca.gov; senator.hurtado@senate.ca.gov; senator.nielsen@senate.ca.gov; Senator.roth@senate.ca.gov; Senator.wilk@senate.ca.gov; senator.Umberg@senate.ca.gov; Ryan.Fleming@sen.ca.gov; Michael.Henning@sen.ca.gov; Marisol.Ibarra@sen.ca.gov; David.Monroy@sen.ca.gov; Alex.Norring@sen.ca.gov; Cameron.Sutherland@sen.ca.gov; Dean.Talley@sen.ca.gov; Frank.Thomsen@sen.ca.gov; Myriam.Valdez@sen.ca.gov; Charles.Wright@SEN.CA.GOV; Douglas.Yoakam@SEN.CA.GOV; Veronica.Badillo@sen.ca.gov; harveybronx@cox.net; sdqsilva@gmail.com; assemblymember.daly@assembly.ca.gov

Subject: Please pass AB 368 (Quirk-Silva/Umberg/Daly) without amendments

 

 


Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of Irvine Watchdog or its volunteers. Irvine Watchdog welcomes all views, thoughts, and opinions expressed by Irvine residents and welcomes their posts for the Opinion section. We want to hear from you! If you would like to submit an Op-Ed, please review our guidelines and send it to us HERE.