2021 Contact List & Reference Guide

Get involved in our city’s decision-making process

Irvine’s decision-making process begins with the City Commissions and most often ends with final decisions being made by the City Council or Orange County Great Park Board of Directors (Great Park Board). Final decisions for development projects are also made by the Planning Commission, not necessarily the City Council.

Development projects are often placed on the agendas of multiple Commissions, each serving in an advisory capacity to the City Council, Great Park Board, or to the Planning Commission for final approval.

Members of the public can participate by attending City Council, OC Great Park Board, and Commission meetings and by submitting public comments, e-mails, or e-Comments that address agenda items, as well as items not on the agenda. E-comments have a 1,000 character limit and are not read aloud during meetings.

Meeting agendas and e-Comment links are posted on the City’s website 12 days before the meeting. Amended supplemental agendas must be posted within 5 days of the meeting. Meetings are videotaped and recorded and can be accessed on the City meeting websites.

Members of the public can attend the meetings in person when City Hall is open to the public. City Council and Great Park Board meetings can be watched on ICTV channel 30, AT&T U-Verse channel 99, or Zoom.

With Irvine’s new public participation procedures for the City’s business meetings you can now speak out and make your voices heard at City Hall. It is through public participation that we can connect with our elected and appointed representatives and with each other.

City Council

City Council adopts legislation, sets policy, adjudicates issues and establishes the budget of the City. City Council members serve on various intergovernmental and regional boards, commissions and committees. City Council Meetings take place the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month at 4:00 PM.

City Council

Larry Agran larryagran@cityofirvine.org
Michael Carroll mikecarroll@cityofirvine.org
Farrah Khan farrahkhan@cityofirvine.org
Tammy Kim  tammykim@cityofirvine.org
Anthony Kuo anthonykuo@cityofirvine.org

E-mail all Councilmembers: irvinecitycouncil@cityofirvine.org
City Council Phone: (949) 724-6233

Great Park Board

Develop and operate, preserve and protect the Orange County Great Park for the benefit and enjoyment of all its visitors. Great Park Board Meetings take place on the 4th Tuesday of the month at 2 PM.

Directors

Larry Agran larryagran@cityofirvine.org
Michael Carroll mikecarroll@cityofirvine.org
Farrah Khan farrahkhan@cityofirvine.org
Tammy Kim  tammykim@cityofirvine.org
Anthony Kuo anthonykuo@cityofirvine.org

Great Park Board E-mail: clerk@cityofirvine.org
Great Park Board Phone: (949) 724-6247

Planning Commission

Implements City’s general plan and zoning code through review and approval of discretionary applications for land development and advises the City Council on amendments to the general plan and zoning code. Planning Commission meetings take place the 1st and 3rd Thursdays of each month at 5:30 PM.

Commissioners:

Mary Ann Gaido, appointed by Larry Agran – maryanngaido@yahoo.com
Steve Huang, appointed by Farrah Khan – Shuang@cityofirvine.org
Christine Knowland, appointed by Anthony Kuo – cknowland@cityofirvine.org
Jong Limb, appointed by Tammy Kim – Jlimb@cityofirvine.org
Jeff Pierson, appointed by Michael Carroll – JPierson@cityofirvine.org

E-mail dsteinkraus@cityofirvine.org
Phone (949) 724-6900

Finance Commission

Act in advisory capacity to the City Council in matters pertaining to short and long range financial planning and funding for City activities. Finance Commission meetings take place the 1st and 3rd Mondays of each month at 5:30 PM.

Commissioners

Faruk Bhagani, appointed by Farrah Khan – fbhagani@cityofirvine.org
Mike Genest, appointed by Michael Carroll – MGenest@ltic.com
Lauren Johnson-Norris, appointed by Larry Agran – ljohnson@cityofirvine.org
John Park, appointed by Anthony Kuo – jpark@cityofirvine.org
Magi Yang, appointed by Tammy Kim – magiyang@cityofirvine.org

E-mail mneumann@cityofirvine.org
Phone (949) 724-6255

Transportation Commission

Advise the City Council regarding development traffic impact studies, expansion of transit services, and traffic and transportation capital projects. Transportation Commission meetings take place on the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays of each month at 5:30 PM.

Commissioners:

Avenda Chawla, appointed by Farrah Khan
Ken Montgomery, appointed by Tammy Kim
Shilpa Patel, appointed by Anthony Kuo
Marty Reiner, appointed by Larry Agran
Sidney Wu, appointed by Michael Carroll

E-mail mcardona@cityofirvine.org
Phone (949) 724-7369

Community Services Commission

Act in advisory capacity to City Council in matters pertaining to acquisition, capital improvements, rehabilitation, and maintenance of parks and recreational, cultural, library and youth activities. Community Services Commission meetings take place on the 1st and 3rd Wednesdays of each month at 5:30 PM.

Commissioners

Naz Hamid, appointed by Tammy Kim
Dick Owens, appointed by Anthony Kuo
Jing Sun, appointed by Larry Agran
Kevin Trussel appointed by Mike Carroll
Soha Varzimia, appointed by Farrah Khan

E-mail CS@cityofirvine.org
Phone (949) 724-6682