2021 Contact List & Reference Guide

Get involved in our city’s decision-making process

Irvine’s decision-making process begins with the City Commissions and most often ends with final decisions being made by the City Council or Orange County Great Park Board of Directors (Great Park Board). Final decisions for development projects are also made by the Planning Commission, not necessarily the City Council.

Development projects are often placed on the agendas of multiple Commissions, each serving in an advisory capacity to the City Council, Great Park Board, or to the Planning Commission for final approval.

Members of the public can participate by attending City Council, OC Great Park Board, and Commission meetings and by submitting public comments, e-mails, or e-Comments that address agenda items, as well as items not on the agenda. E-comments have a 1,000 character limit and are not read aloud during meetings.

Meeting agendas and e-Comment links are posted on the City’s website 12 days before the meeting. Amended supplemental agendas must be posted within 5 days of the meeting. Meetings are videotaped and recorded and can be accessed on the City meeting websites.

Members of the public can attend the meetings in person when City Hall is open to the public. City Council and Great Park Board meetings can be watched on ICTV channel 30, AT&T U-Verse channel 99, or Zoom.

With Irvine’s new public participation procedures for the City’s business meetings you can now speak out and make your voices heard at City Hall. It is through public participation that we can connect with our elected and appointed representatives and with each other.

City Council

City Council adopts legislation, sets policy, adjudicates issues and establishes the budget of the City. City Council members serve on various intergovernmental and regional boards, commissions and committees. City Council Meetings take place the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month at 4:00 PM.

City Council

Larry Agran [email protected]
Michael Carroll [email protected]
Farrah Khan [email protected]
Tammy Kim  [email protected]
Anthony Kuo [email protected]

E-mail all Councilmembers: [email protected]
City Council Phone: (949) 724-6233

Great Park Board

Develop and operate, preserve and protect the Orange County Great Park for the benefit and enjoyment of all its visitors. Great Park Board Meetings take place on the 4th Tuesday of the month at 2 PM.


Larry Agran [email protected]
Michael Carroll [email protected]
Farrah Khan [email protected]
Tammy Kim  [email protected]
Anthony Kuo [email protected]

Great Park Board E-mail: [email protected]
Great Park Board Phone: (949) 724-6247

Planning Commission

Implements City’s general plan and zoning code through review and approval of discretionary applications for land development and advises the City Council on amendments to the general plan and zoning code. Planning Commission meetings take place the 1st and 3rd Thursdays of each month at 5:30 PM.


Mary Ann Gaido, appointed by Larry Agran – [email protected]
Steve Huang, appointed by Farrah Khan – [email protected]
Christine Knowland, appointed by Anthony Kuo – [email protected]
Jong Limb, appointed by Tammy Kim – [email protected]
Jeff Pierson, appointed by Michael Carroll – [email protected]

E-mail [email protected]
Phone (949) 724-6900

Finance Commission

Act in advisory capacity to the City Council in matters pertaining to short and long range financial planning and funding for City activities. Finance Commission meetings take place the 1st and 3rd Mondays of each month at 5:30 PM.


Dale Cheema, appointed by Farrah Khan – [email protected]
Mike Genest, appointed by Michael Carroll – [email protected]
Lauren Johnson-Norris, appointed by Larry Agran – [email protected]
John Park, appointed by Anthony Kuo – [email protected]
Ajay Mohan, appointed by Tammy Kim – [email protected]

E-mail [email protected]
Phone (949) 724-6255

Transportation Commission

Advise the City Council regarding development traffic impact studies, expansion of transit services, and traffic and transportation capital projects. Transportation Commission meetings take place on the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays of each month at 5:30 PM.


Scott Hansen, appointed by Farrah Khan
Ken Montgomery, appointed by Tammy Kim
Shilpa Patel, appointed by Anthony Kuo
Marty Reiner, appointed by Larry Agran
Sidney Wu, appointed by Michael Carroll

E-mail [email protected]
Phone (949) 724-7369

Community Services Commission

Act in advisory capacity to City Council in matters pertaining to acquisition, capital improvements, rehabilitation, and maintenance of parks and recreational, cultural, library and youth activities. Community Services Commission meetings take place on the 1st and 3rd Wednesdays of each month at 5:30 PM.


Naz Hamid, appointed by Tammy Kim
Dick Owens, appointed by Anthony Kuo
Jing Sun, appointed by Larry Agran
Kevin Trussel appointed by Mike Carroll
Soha Varzimia, appointed by Farrah Khan

E-mail [email protected]
Phone (949) 724-6682

Irvine Community Land Trust

The Irvine Community Land Trust (ICLT) provides secure high quality affordable housing as a non-profit organization that acquires and retains land with a purpose of developing permanent affordable rental, ownership and special needs housing for the benefit of income eligible families.

ICLT meetings take place at 503 Nightmist, Irvine, 92618 at 4:00 PM the 3rd Monday of each month. Agenda items as well as information on how the public can participate are posted on the ICLT website the Friday before the Monday board meetings.

The public can make public comments during meetings by means of no pre-registration Zoom or similar platform. Participants will be placed in a queue and asked to speak when their name is called. Members of the public can also submit e-mailed comments to [email protected].

Board members:

Michael Stockstill: Vice Chair
Ryan Aeh:  Treasurer
Nancy Donnelly: Secretary
Farrah Khan:  Board Member
Anthony Kuo:  Board Member
Leon Napper:  Board Member
Patrick Strader:  Board member

Email [email protected]
Phone (949) 743-0441

Orange County Power Authority

The Orange County Power Authority (OCPA) will offer retail electricity to residents and businesses as an alternative to SCE, as well as energy and climate change related programs such as electric vehicle charging stations, net energy metering, energy efficiency grants and rebates, and low income customer assistance.  Customers will have choice over their retail electricity options with Community Choice Energy (CCE).

Meetings take place at Irvine City Hall at 10:00 AM on the 2nd Tuesday of each Month. Agendas can be obtained on the City of Irvine website and on the OCPA website. Information on how to attend and participate in OCPA meetings are provided on the City of Irvine website and OCPower.org. Members of the public can also submit e-mailed comments to [email protected].

Board Members:

Buena Park:
Councilmember Susan Sonne
Mayor Connor Traut, alternate

Councilmember Fred Jung,Vice Chair
Councilmember Ahmad Zahra, alternate

Huntington Beach:
Councilmember Mike Posey
Council member Dan Kalmick, alternate

Mayor Farrah Khan
Councilmember Mike Carroll, Chair

Email [email protected]
Phone (949) 724-7365